Articles are generally more specific; use more specific keywords to create a narrower search.
Journals may contain both popular and scholarly sources (magazine, journal, and newspaper articles)
Search Article Databases
The most comprehensive database for scholarly research in chemistry. Provides access to the following Chemical Abstracts Service databases and Medline:
- Chemical Abstracts (CAPLUS, bibliographic data, 1907-present)
- Registry(chemical structures, biosequences and names, with associated property and spectral data)
- CASREACT (single and multi-step organic reactions, 1840-present)
- Chemcats (commercial availability of chemicals from major suppliers)
- Chemlist (regulatory information on chemicals)
First time users can register for SciFinder access here. SciFinder tutorials are also available.
- Web of Science
A good starting point for finding scientific articles in major journals from a wide range of scientific disciplines, including chemistry and biochemistry. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite a particular author or article. Covers scholarly publications from 1900-present.
Index to international biomedical literature, 1950-present.
- Dissertations and Theses
Provides information on dissertations and theses from US and international universities. Access the full text of recent University of Idaho dissertations, when available.
- Sciverse ScienceDirect
Provides access to the full-text of articles in journals published by Elsevier Science. UI journal subscriptions are indicated by a green key icon in the journal listing.
- American Chemical Society Publications
Search ACS publications.
- Journal Citation Reports
Allows evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data from over 7,500 scholarly journals
- ACS Symposium Series
Online access to books from the ACS Symposium Series from 2009 to present
- CASSI: CAS Source Index Search Tool
Useful tool for identifying or confirming journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907.
Property data, literature and patent references, reactions, and spectral data, provided by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules, provided by NIH.
Search for journal content, scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-prints, and patents.