digital initiatives logo library logo

First Monday Newsletter Archive

Please Note: these newsletters were harvested in 2015. Some functionality has been disabled. Links may be broken or out of date.
For current news, please visit First Monday.

College of Law

Administration Office: 208-885-2255
Dean’s Office: 208-885-4977
fax: 208-885-5709
Menard 101
711 S. Rayburn Drive

Mailing Address:
College of Law
University of Idaho
875 Perimeter Drive MS 2321
Moscow, ID 83844-2321


phone: 208-364-4074
fax: 208-334-2176
322 E. Front St., Suite 590
Boise, ID 83702

First Monday - November 3, 2008

In this issue:

Rosholt Roundtable Spotlights Corporate Leader with a Civic Vision

The Rosholt Roundtable for Visiting Professionals, a unique program established by John Rosholt (UI Law ’64) and Karen (Fisher) Rosholt of Twin Falls, provides an opportunity for law students to meet holders of law degrees who have used their education as a foundation for leadership in their communities and in careers other than the traditional practice of law. This year, on October 23, the Roundtable was pleased to welcome John Stellmon (UI Law ’84), president of Regence BlueShield of Idaho. Mr. Stellmon, the third in four successive generations of Stellmon graduates from the UI College of Law, was named to the Regence presidency after serving as chief operating officer and vice president of operations; he has held leadership positions in the company since 1990. He practiced law in Lewiston with his father before moving into the business world.

Mr. Stellmon spoke to students, engaged in “roundtable” dialogue, and delivered a guest lecture in the College’s consumer law class. During his “roundtable” remarks he emphasized the importance in business, as well as in life, of critical thinking, principled decision-making, personal integrity, and willingness to take properly evaluated risks – a set of attributes he said he derived largely from his legal education. On the question of prudent risks, he observed, “A ship is safe in the harbor, but that’s not what ships are for.” He also urged students to draw a clear distinction between home and work, to invest time in their families, and to engage in civic service that will leave their communities better than they found them.

Further information about the Rosholt Roundtable is available from Anne-Marie Fulfer, Director of Career Services or from Dean Burnett.

Students Excel in Oral and Written Advocacy as McNichols Moot Court Competition Marks Its 20th Year

Saturday, November 1, marked the final day of the 20th Annual Raymond C. McNichols Moot Court Competition. A signature event at the College of Law, the McNichols competition is underwritten by Lewiston attorney Michael E. McNichols (UI Law ’63) in honor of his late father, one of Idaho’s most esteemed federal district judges. The final round was judged by Hon. Joel Horton (UI Law ’85), Idaho Supreme Court; Hon. Barbara Madsen, Washington Supreme Court; Hon. Debra Stephens, Washington Supreme Court; Hon. John Stegner (UI Law ’82), District Judge, Second Judicial District of Idaho; and Mr. McNichols.

Earning the 2008 best oralist award was 2L student Kassandra Slaven, who came to law school from Idaho State University. The runner-up award for oral advocacy went to 2L Isaac Williamson (University of Idaho), while semifinalist awards were made to 2L students Archibald Harner (Washington State University) and Ben Onosco (University of Washington). The best brief award was earned by 2L Jetta Hatch (Brigham Young University), and the runner-up award in that category went to 2L Sarah Simmons (Saint Louis University). The award recognizing combined excellence in written and oral advocacy was earned by 2L Steve Frinsko (Dartmouth College).

The McNichols competition is sponsored by the Board of Student Advocates. The BSA vice president in charge of oral arguments for 2008 was 3L Erika Parsons (University of Idaho). The author of the moot court problem – framing substantive due process and search/seizure issues – was 3L Rachel Parise (University of Arizona). Further information about the McNichols competition can be obtained from BSA faculty adviser Laurie O’Neal (

Law Advisory Council Elects Chair, Welcomes New Members, and Continues Support for “Second Century” Initiative

On October 24, 2008, the College of Law Advisory Council conducted its semiannual meeting, scheduled to coincide with Homecoming weekend. During the meeting, the Council elected Bart M. Davis (UI Law ’80) to serve as chair in 2008-09. Mr. Davis practices law in Idaho Falls and serves in the Idaho Legislature, where he is the Senate Majority Leader. He succeeds former Idaho Supreme Court Chief Justice Linda Copple Trout (UI Law ’77), who received the warm thanks of Council members for presiding over the Council’s active engagement in the law school’s “second century” strategic planning process.

During Justice Trout’s service as chair, and during the preceding service of Idaho Falls attorney Timothy C. Hopkins (George Washington Law School), the Council developed the recommendation that the University of Idaho fulfill its statewide mission in legal education, during the College’s forthcoming “second century,” through a dual location model, retaining the main campus in Moscow and creating a branch location in Boise. In this year’s October meeting the Council reviewed and affirmed the implementation steps necessary to fulfill this vision – including the first step of establishing a third-year program in Boise as authorized in August by the State Board of Education (Board of Regents).

The Council also welcomed new members William F. Boyd (UI Law ’65), attorney at law, Coeur d’Alene; Charles Kozak (UI Law ’68), attorney at law, Reno, Nevada; Dennis McLaughlin (UI Law ’67), attorney at law, Spokane, Washington; Hon. Lonny Suko (UI Law ’68), U.S. District Judge, Eastern District of Washington, Yakima; and P. Craig Storti (Hastings Law), counsel to URS/Washington Division, Boise. Additional new members joining the Council this fall include Curtis H. Eaton (UI Law ’74), vice president for institutional planning, College of Southern Idaho, Twin Falls; Raul R. Labrador (University of Washington School of Law), attorney at law, Nampa, and member, Idaho House of Representatives; James D. Ruchti (UI Law ’01), attorney at law, Pocatello, and member, Idaho House of Representatives; and Connie W. Taylor (UI Law ’93), attorney at law, Lewiston. A full list of Law Advisory Council members may be viewed.